You’ve probably heard it a million times. The song is somewhat of a curse. But actually, if you listen to it, Little Mix have got a point.

This is exactly how we see relationships in 2017.

Let’s break it down.

Slightly bitter, but determined.

“Heard he in love with some other chick
Yeah yeah, that hurt me, I’ll admit
Forget that boy, I’m over it”

This is pretty much one of the first things we say after a break up. “Fuck him (or her) I can do better…” and our friends tell us the same. It’s funny how many people say “I never liked him/her anyway…” when everything goes tits up.

Let’s throw in a low blow.

“I hope she gettin’ better sex
Hope she ain’t fakin’ it like I did, babe”

We just have to have a dig anyway don’t we?

During relationship: BEST SEX EVER.

After: Nah, didn’t do it for me, mate.

At home: *In tears*
Sees ex out: BE COOL. BE COOL. I DON’T CARE.

“Guess I should say thank you
For the hate yous and the tattoos
Oh baby, I’m cool by the way
Ain’t sure I loved you anyway”

No bitch is gonna ruin my Instagram.

“Oh, I deleted all your pics
Then blocked your number from my phone”

Our social media profiles are important to us. Remember all those soppy posts? Bam. They’re gone. It’s as if none of it ever happened…

While 2017 seems to be the year so far for engagements and baby news, that doesn’t stop us reaching for the block button.

Sisters gotta be doing it for themselves.

“Here’s to my ex, hey, look at me now
Well, I’m, I’m all the way up, I swear you’ll never bring me down”

Even when you’re feeling like Bridget Jones with a tub of your best mates Ben and Jerry, we still have to act as though we’re not phased by anything. I am an independent woman *clicks fingers*

The Little Mix guide to break ups.

So what has this taught me? They’ve pretty much proved the point of dating in 2017. Where we’re quick to post Instagram shots when we’re loved up to the eyeballs, only to pretend they never existed. Denial is great, right?

 

Leave a Reply

