I’ve been thinking recently about how often I see lesbians taken for a ride. We’ve all heard of ‘gay until graduation‘ right? Girls who dabble in fanny during their university years then go flying back to co*k the second they’re done with their degree. Sure, they must have some gay in them, some would say they were just curious but others would happily argue that they’re using university as a way of tip-toeing out the closet.

Whichever route they’re taking, I’m only going to judge a little. And you know why? Because the girls who aren’t quite sure usually hook up with those who are very openly gay and happy with their sexuality. I guess it balances out the uncertainty in some way, but playing on one person’s confidence in themselves is totally unfair in my books.

I went to uni with a girlfriend, we should have never been together really, and it all ended shortly after – I’m 99% sure she was cheating on me, but I’m not one to cry over spilt milk, so let’s continue. As the end of the semester came to a close, I had gotten gradually closer to a girl in my friendship circle. This is so long ago now I can’t tell you much else – because according to my best friend, I have amnesia – apart from the fact at times I felt a little like a tester. You know those little pots of paint in B&Q that you can take home and dab on your wall to see if you like the colour? Well, I was the rainbow version.

rainbow-paint-roller1

Whether she considered me an experiment or not, we were together on and off for around a year and a half. In that time, she cheated on me three times. All with guys of course. Which made me doubt the relationship even more.

Did it make me feel better that I seemed to be the only girl for her and that her slight indiscretions were with guys? Of course not. Had she fallen off the straight wagon and landed in gayville only to get back up again? Probably. But I’ve learnt my lesson and experienced the upset that comes with being someone’s “maybe I’m gay” the hard way.

Thank god for my girlfriend, you know, being gay. 

 

Leave a comment